Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

These days, it is increasingly important for employers to hire individuals who possess both qualifications and adequate interpersonal abilities. While I acknowledge the value of social skills in specific job domains, I maintain the view that for the majority of professions, qualifications that demonstrate professional expertise hold greater significance as a factor in achieving professional success.

At first glance perspective for the matter, many a person who thinks that an employee should have excellent social skills to get the achievement in his/her career may have several arguments. At first, communication ability can be beneficial for those who work in a dynamic environment and have to interact with other colleagues. They should create various conversations to discuss the ideas, build the working plans, and share the difficulties during operating the work, thereby, improving the work efficiency. Another argument is that a social skill with impressive presentation ability contributes significantly to the job which requires the workers to communicate directly with their customers. To be specific, the staffs have to convince the customers to use their products and services, and the social person tends to be easy to get attraction and satisfaction from others.

Nevertheless, I firmly hold a belief that professional qualification is involved a crucial role in success of the companies for several reasons. First and foremost, for a working position without communication with others, social skills are not necessary. By way of illustration, scientists working in the laboratory to create an invention for a better life, their knowledge and research abilities are much more important than any social skills. This also explains why education and academic degrees still hold primary standards for job requirements, especially human-related jobs nowadays. Another reason is that hiring employees with high qualifications and good social skills requires much time and resources for recruitment. In fact, in order to employ talent with not only high qualifications but also good social skills which may not be important for the job, companies need a long time to find candidates who adapt to all requirements and have to pay a lot of money for their salary. Therefore, the company owner should balance social skills and knowledgeable qualifications with job requirements to have suitable recruitment.

To sum up, although social skills are very important to get achievements in a long-term career nowadays, however, I still hold believe that qualifications in professional expertise are a core value and have a significant impact on the success of companies.