Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in their jobs?

Nowadays, it is becoming more common for employers to prioritize hiring those who not only have essential qualifications but also possess sufficient people skills since they evaluate equally the importance of both ones. From my point of view, I totally agree that social skills play the same significant role as academic credentials in people’s career paths.

To commence with, it is undeniable that applicants having excellent teamwork skills apart from good domain knowledge are likely to be more highly appreciated than those who are only good at certain expertise. In fact, any corporation also includes a variety kind of members with different characters, backgrounds, and mindsets, resulting in inevitable disagreements. Therefore, if employees know how to collaborate effectively with people in the team, cherish their difference, and value contradicting opinions in order to obtain common goals together, they definitely gain the love and trust of their co-workers and stand a higher chance of climbing the career ladder. In contrast, those who lack such critical skills may suffer from isolation or miscommunication and trigger conflict among workers, hindering the overall working process.

Furthermore, another point worth mentioning is that employees who are socially adept may have an advantage in occupations that require frequent interaction with customers. For instance, the ability to sell products or services is of paramount significance in any business, and this requires strong communication skills and the ability to catch up and understand customers' psychology. Therefore, those who possess such essential skills not only can accomplish their task of increasing sales for the company but also build rapport with clients and thus contribute to the businesses’ long-term growth. For another reason, for those who want to broaden their career path in coaching or consulting fields, in addition to excelling in specialized knowledge, the ability to present and deliver value to others as well as empathy to customers is extremely important with respect to a successful career.

In conclusion, I believe that both social skills and formal qualifications have the same strong correlation with career success as they can not only help a person integrate but also facilitate their working process.