Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some, but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there any better approaches to encourage employees to work hard?

In high times of unemployment, employees appear to be doing very little to encourage their staff to work hard, but when job vacancies are scarce, they have to find effective ways of rewarding their staff in order to stop them from leaving the company.

One tangible way of doing this is to offer extra money to employees who are seen to be working exceptionally hard, and this is done in companies with a product to sell. For instance, real estate agents and department stores can offers a simple commission on all sales.

This style of management favours people who can demonstrate their contribution through sale figures, but does not take into account the work done by people behind the scenes who have little contact with the public. A better tactic is for management to offer a bonus to all the staff at the end of the year if the profits are healthy. This, however, does not allow management to target individuals who have genuinely worked harder than others.

Another pragmatic approach is to accredit excellent staff through incentive schemes such as 'Employee of the year' or 'worker of the month' to make people feel recognised. Such people usually singled out with the help of clients. Hotels, restaurants and tour operators may also allow their employees to accept tips offered by clients who are pleased with the service. However, tipping is a highly unreliable source of money and does not favour everyone.

In conclusion, Individuals want to be recognised for their contribution--whether through receiving more money or simply some encouraging words. They also need to feel that their contribution to the whole organisation is worthwhile, and therefore, good management should recognise this need and response appropriately.