Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

There has been a colossal upsurge in prodigies discussing the topic of the way that managers should reward their employees. In the midst of the materialistic age, the extra money can be seen as the most ubiquitous award for managers due to their active contribution to the business whereas this method still has some setbacks. In this essay, I will cite whether this trend tends to be in the negative or positive direction and give other alternative solutions which might motivate the worker to be studious.

In the consumeristic era, money plays fundamental importance in all transactions and raising the living standard. That’s why gratuity could support employees to purchase for the underlying factor in their life and play a stimulating role to force them to work effectively. As the saying goes “Money makes the mare goes”, so it can be stated that these bonuses can make the worker feel deserved for their relentless effort in their career. It is evident that having a bunch of money can help the worker have more chances to satisfy their need in life. Moreover, this reward can make them don’t become a slave-drive for their entrepreneurs. Nevertheless, this gratuity can create a competitive working environment. Because of the limited number of this award, employees who don’t gain it might feel envy and jealousy of others. This phenomenon sometimes pressurized the employee, which dishearten their working morale and productivity. For instance, in some industrialized nations, some records report the overtime working of employees in order to reach the target can make them feel more stressed and unhappy with their career, which can affect adversely their mental and physical health.

Considering the other solutions, the manager can motivate their employees by caring about their emotions and organizing some programs to spur them productivity. Instead of rewarding money, manager can alter it by setting up an event to celebrate the goal that company has achieved. Working environment may become more friendly and this method can keep the cohesiveness among workers. Company can provide free lunch and snacks for their employee in order to ensure they don’t skip the meals to work round the clock. Extending the break time might invigorate the morale of workers. Finally, managers should treat all workers equivalently to guarantee that they all satisfy and comfort with their work.

In conclusion, it is all stated that remuneration can spur the incentive of employees to work efficiently and effectively whereas there still have some drawbacks. Personally, I believe that not only gratuity can accelerate the motivation of employees but also internal needs of them should be satisfied. Combing the award by extra money and psychological incentive can lead the enterprise to the optimal result.