Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts think that it is more advantageous for pupils to start learning a foreign language at primary schools instead of secondary school. This essay will firstly, discuss that learning a foreign language at early age can fasten the mental development of primary school kids and secondly and outline the confusion with the I native language as one of the primary disadvantages.

One of the principle advantages of starting to teach foreign language at primary schools is to help children to see earlt cognitive behavioral benefits. To become bilingual or trilingual from an early age affects thinking in countless ways even though they struggle to get into at the begining. According to the research that has been carried out by the department of developmental phycology of Durham University, MRI results show activation of neurons in frontal brain on children who become bilingual at the age between 6 and 10. This results in increasing of mental health and decreasing of risks of stroke or other brain-related illness at a later age.

Despite these advantages, many kids often confuse when they are taught the second language at primary schools and this leads them to use strange foreign words in the native language. As a result, they become ready to lose their chances to master in their first language and even to cause shyness to talk in public because of difficulties in generating ideas in their native language. In 2017, The Times reported that at the primary schools in UK where kids has been started to learn the second language, 25% of them have been struggling to explain themselves in both languages.

In conclusion, the fact learning a foreign language can be beneficial to mental well-being clearly outweighs the disadvantages of the confusion of the second language with their native language.