Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some researchers come to the conclusion that for a child to learn a secondary language at toddler age is way better than later ages. In my opinion, I firmly believe that learning at an early age makes a big difference in the learning capabilities of a child. Also, the merits in this way of learning can surpass the disadvantages for the following reasons.

To commence with, learning can expose an individual mind to explore in many new ways. A child in his primary school can have very little stress and a peaceful mind which can facilitate them to learn any new foreign language with less burden. In contrast, students in secondary school can have 6 to 8 subjects in their curriculum which gradually declines their concentration towards the foreign language. For instance, in most of the nations like England and India, parents are encouraging their children to learn English at an early age since it will aid them in pursuing their higher studies overseas. Also, in this way students can only concentrate on their studies rather than struggling with foreign languages.

Additionally, young children below the age of five years old have good cognitive skills. They can grasp the basic grammar and rules of the new language very precisely which can help them to master the language in future years. For instance, recent studies demonstrate that bilingual students are progressing better in writing, reading and speaking skills than normal students. Furthermore, it is a good start to encourage children to become multilingual at early ages in order to achieve their future endeavors.

On the other hand, most of the parents believe the myth of learning a new language will denigrate the original culture. Moreover, some people believe that a new language will come with the culture, which makes the younger generation attracted to foreign cultures over their own traditions and rituals. For example, in recent days English is becoming the most popular language across the globe with more than 55 countries accepting it as the second language. As a consequence, the young people in these nations are showing interest in American culture which is a great concern to the nation's heritage.

To sum it all, although having a few drawbacks for learning a new language will not be a barrier to exposure for new things for a child in their elementary school. A child should be habituated to learn new language skills at their primary schools in order to improve creative skills and also to achieve high academic performance in further years since in secondary schools students are more occupied with their learning subjects.