Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to be fluent in a second language because the countries of the world are increasingly opening their doors to trade with other countries. Some people claim that children should learn a second language in the primary education curriculum. This has both benefits and drawbacks; however, I believe that the advantages are far more than the disadvantages.

Learning a foreign language right from elementary school brings several disadvantages. Firstly, this puts an extra burden on young people, because more subjects mean more pressure. And it can be seen that children who bear the extra pressure of studies eventually get affected by health-related issues. In addition, children may have language disorders between their mother tongue and second language. When they are in primary school, the child's mother tongue is not mastered, and learning another language can lead to problems such as confusion in language choice and expression when speaking the native language.

It is an undeniable fact that learning other languages at an early age brings a lot of positive effects to children. According to many studies, the sooner children learn a foreign language, the stronger their ability to develop a language like their mother tongue. In other words, this is both highly effective without too much effort. Besides, early learning a foreign language is not only limited to the fact that children are good at that foreign language, but also helps children to be more intelligent and develop in all other fields. To illustrate, learning a new language helps to develop intellectually, broadens understanding so that children become more confident, along with correct pronunciation and fluency due to being trained from a young age will expand learning opportunities and careers for the future.

Although learning a new language at an early age can bring limitations, the problems can be solved with the right upbringing. Consequently, I strongly agree that students should learn foreign languages from elementary school instead of secondary school.