Some parents allow their teenage children to live independently, away from home. Other parents don't want their teenage children to live away from them. Which do you think is better and why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Some parents allow their growing-up children to live as independent individuals., whereas others prefer keeping them close by. This essay addresses a debatable issue of both arguments and I will outline in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, exponents of independent teenagers cite that children would enhance their skills be becoming adaptable at managing their time and money properly. To balance, for instance, between studying and taking a part-time job may shape their responsibility of personal goals. Consequently, they get valuable insight which is hardly found in their academic life. Moreover, cultivating decision-making skills can improve their sense of control, and reduce stress, anxiety, and depression. It appears that risk-taking behavior during emotional instability draws more possibility to break them down without developing such skills, which is beneficial for their future career.

On the other hand, opponents of this opinion highlight that teenagers tend to be influenced by their peer pressure. Since they are no longer under supervision from their caregivers, they hardly understand what is the right or wrong. Consequently, youth at this age would follow any illicit activities in gangster, juvenile delinquency, in order to achieve peer acceptance. Additionally, strict parental rules during adolescence may diminish the caregiver-adolescent bond, arousing individuation. This can contribute to a heightened depression, and decision-making challenges, resulting in poor family engagement and impacting mental well-being in the adolescent developmental phase.

Overall, in spite of some plausible demerits, it also has brought notable merits including effective time and financial management as well as accountability. This is as long as youth shows capability to choose positive peer groups.