Some parents give their children everything that their children ask for and accept what their children want to do. Is this good for children? What could be the consequences for these children when they grow up?

Dealing with the government’s incentive of 2 children under one roof, family parents have been shifting from familial quantity to their quality by inclining towards their childrens’ interests at all cost. In my opinion, this trend brings more latent drawbacks over its benefits during a kid’s upbringing process and leaves them with a fragile future due to the lack of self-management skills. In this essay, I will delve into the current and potential disadvantages offered by the practice of indulgence.

Indulging their children during the early years paves a wide avenue for the sense of insatiable requirement and heavy dependence. For example, children are more likely to view the second person, including their parents in this case, as an available machine which immediately supports all their needs, even though kids’ requirements are not truly necessary driven by their short-term wish or personal jealousy, creating unlimited boundaries of requests, both rational and irrational. Furthermore, the ready availability of assistance from parents fosters a sense of heavy reliance in children due to their satisfaction without personal effort and evaluation.

It couldn’t be blamed because every parental act comes from their love towards their children. However, this kind of family love should be navigated only by a strong mind which is able to envision their kids’ future. For example, the act of denial serves well as a method to sharpen children’s independence along with the ability of self-evaluation. When parents bravely say no to their children’s demands, children have to reflect whether their requirements are deserved or not and find ways to achieve their goals if it really fuels them. In other words, lacking the ability of independence and self-reflection inevitably comes as the shortcomes of parents’ inconsistency towards children’s demands.

In conclusion, while there is nothing to be blamed when parents indulge their children by accepting their needs, it is imperative for parents to balance parental love and unwavering determination to reinforce children’s ability to face harsh life conditions in the future.