Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, more and more people considering getting a university degree.

Obviously, one of the main reasons why people go to university is that they want to secure a better job. In such a competitive work market in today’s society, having a university degree will help job seekers enhance their career prospects since most employers consider graduates to have better specialist knowledge and personal marketable skills. It is undeniable that those who don’t go to university may manage to train themselves, but taking courses at university is believed to be an easier and faster path.

However, there are other benefits for individuals and society. Firstly, living away from home helps students to be more independent and develop social skills. A case in point is that many young adults have to leave their families, adapt to a new environment and make new friends. As a result, they will gain more confidence and experience which will help them quickly accommodate themselves to new working environment after graduating. Secondly, society will gain from the contribution that will graduates can make to the economy. Since the world is changing at an incredibly fast rate, employers expect well-qualified candidates for their companies and thus improve the society’s labour force.

In conclusion, I believe that although the main aim of education is to help graduates get the best job, there are clearly further benefits. If we continue to promote and encourage university attendance, it will lead to a better future for society and individuals