Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Nowadays, making personal choices on daily issues among children is gaining popularity. With the advent of the internet and social media into our lives, these issues have been surging. In this essay, I will talk about some pros and cons of allowing kids to make their own choices in regular matters.

To begin with, children are given much more freedom nowadays compared to those about a century ago. This has resulted in young adults demanding to be allowed to make their free choices. Furthermore, the influence of social media has added spark to this issue. One of the main advantages of this situation is that kids have more freedom to make crucial life decisions that affect them the most. For instance, children should be given the choice to identify their areas of interest and be allowed opportunities to pursue careers they feel confident about. These vital decisions should be taken by kids so that they enjoy their careers and are not burdened.

Turning on to the other side of the argument, allowing children to make their own decisions could also become dangerous as in the future this will create a society of individuals who cannot cop up with others. This could lead to a problematic situation. For example, if adults fail to keep a check on children, this might lead to kids following a wrong path and harming themselves. To add to this, it will create a nuisance for others in the community which will result in distress.

All things considered, there are certain important choices in life that should be taken by children on an individual level, but there are also some decisions wherein adults should intervene in order to guide kids towards a brighter future. I believe adults should be aware of situations in which kids are allowed to make choices and cases in which they need assistance.