Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Decades have witnessed the concern about how to create a more pleasurable and satisfied society. While it has been argued by some that the most effective way to address this problem is establishing a society with only a small difference between the prosperous and the penurious, I respectfully disagree with this assertion.

To commence with, the contentment standard varies depending on each individual’s perspective of life so the wealth gap is not the only thing determining the society's happiness. Indeed, it cannot be ensured that all people having sound financial backgrounds enjoy their lives as they may suffer from other problems that money cannot solve, especially in mental life. To illustrate, in Japan, many citizens have high-quality lives but endure stress and even depression from work. By contrast, those people who are although have to deal with the financial burden but understand exactly what is their target in life and consistently strive for it are likely to live a more fulfilling life. Therefore, if people do not know how to create a rich spiritual life and pursue their ideals, eliminating class distinction is less likely to bring about a happier society.

Moreover, instead of trying to narrow the income gap, it should be better to use it as a motivation for people from low-income backgrounds to make an effort for a better life which leads to a continuously developing society. When there are differences among social classes, individuals are motivated to broaden their knowledge and work harder to achieve a high-quality life. As a result, it not only drives innovation but also fosters a sense of personal fulfillment and satisfaction derived from one’s accomplishments. It is evidenced that many students come from poor rural areas but have a high spirit of learning and become successful in later career paths. On the contrary, if everyone, regardless of whether rich or poor, enjoys the same welfare and material life, they would tend to be lazy and society would not develop in a more positive direction.

In conclusion, nowadays some people opine that satisfaction in society can be achieved by reducing disparity in income groups. Nevertheless, I disagree with this view as each person has their way of gaining a joyful life, and to some extent, differences in social classes propel social mobility.