Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, technology, especially smart phones, has become a ubiquitous part of our daily lives. Some argue that in educational environment, using phones should be prohibited completely, whilst others say that they ought to be free to utilize their phones. From my perspective, I suppose using such gadget in schools should be normalized for children.

On the one hand, allowing students to use their phones freely could bring several disadvantages. Firstly, they might be distracted without realization during lessons. For instance, they would use their phones for entertainment instead of concentrating on the lessons. Another drawback is that if students bring smart phones that are costly to school, them being robbed is almost inevitable. Since carry phones along is one of their rights, it could be difficult to interfere the models of the phones or limit their usage.

On the other hand, children bringing phones to school surely comes with many benefits. First and foremost, they could use the phones for educational purposes, such as looking up the words, or searching for information which is related to the lessons on the Internet. In addition, they would be available to contact with their parents at anytime. For example, in some emergency cases like getting sick, they could simply make a call to inform their parents who would pick them up from school. Last but not least, keeping a phone with them could help them keep up with up-to-the-minute information. To give a specific example, if they want to take a photo of the lessons or simply a happy moment of their friends, it would not be easily done when the phone is not within their reach.

To summarize, I strongly agree with the idea of phones allowance for children during school day. Although it does come with some side effects, the pros still outweigh the cons and that is why phones should be permitted in such circumstances.