Some people believe that a college or university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that the education system in a country plays a vital role in its development. While many people argue that tertiary education should be available to only gifted students, I am of the opinion that universities and colleges should provide places for all students.

On the one hand, the idea of giving university education to only bright students may be reasonable to some extent. It is because pursuing a bachelor degree is a demanding task, which requires the students to have a good knowledge background to catch up with advanced and specialized knowledge quickly and effectively. For example, critical decision making and lateral thinking are often performed by intelligent individuals in their daily lives. Only accepting good students can make the best use of the university education and improve educational outcomes, helping create skilled workers and professionals.

On the other hand, I believe that all students should be entitled to attend post-secondary education. First, not only the most gifted students can follow the advanced education in university but those who have determination and ability to self-study are also able to make it, yet at a slower pace. Therefore, no students should be restricted from higher education to pursue their own goals. Moreover, giving the chance to attend higher education for all students can motivate students who are less capable to study harder. It is because getting university certifications is seen as a passport to better job opportunities and possibly higher earning levels in the future.

To conclude, while it may be feasible that only good students should be accepted to enroll in tertiary institutions, I still believe that it should be the right of all high school graduates so they can pursue their career goals.