Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that the instability of society and poverty are the compelling reasons for crime. Some, however, believe that bad personality traits result in crime. In my opinion, crime is not only a consequence of social issues and poverty but also individual characteristics.

First of all, social problems especially political instability and lax legal systems can create favorable conditions for the escalation of illegal activities. Report on the highest crime rates can be seen in many countries that have unstable political regimes due to the lack of forces to ensure social order safety and the punishments for violations are not stipulated and enforced decisively. Poverty is often accompanied by social instability, the penury boosts people to do everything to make money even breaking the law. Take El Salvador as an example, after the prolonged civil war and past poverty, this country is known as the most dangerous country for women in the world with one of the highest killer rates.

Moreover, many developed countries and emerging countries which have high social welfare and living standards also have high crime rates, specifically white-collar crime, who seek to circumvent the law through corruption and bribes. In addition, bad characteristics such as acquisitiveness or greed could also breed future offenders. For example, Italy is a rich country but the highest crime rate with the most notorious mafia gangs in the world.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both views certainly have some validity that innate characteristics are the cause of crime and, along with poverty and social instability, some people turn to a career of crime.