Topic: Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the era of modern society, more and more complicated crimes have appeared frequently with numerous severe consequences. When it comes to the main root causes that trigger such illegal behaviors, some people suppose that this status is a consequence of social factors or their personal characteristics. This essay will shed light on both viewpoints before making a final decision.

One major ground behind the reason why people believe that a bad personality leads to criminal actions is that many criminal cases are triggered by an inherent mindset. In fact, humans require long-term development to grow comprehensively in terms of mindset and perception. During this growing journey, humans will get exposure to various experiences as well as interact with different people. If they connect with bad people, they are likely to be adversely affected, leading to immature thoughts and impulsive behaviors such as stealing or cheating, particularly teenagers. In fact, various factors such as upbringing, personal beliefs, and psychological disorders may all play a role in criminal activities. In addition, there are several cases in which people commit a crime due to being influenced by mental health disorders such as sociopathy or psychopathy.

On the flip side, social issues are also taken into consideration when researching about primary causes that incline people to commit crimes. Although in the realm of modern society, living standards have been enhanced in every aspect of life, there are a considerable number of residents who still cannot get access to basic amenities such as healthcare services or even suffer from insufficiency of food and water scarcity. As a result, poverty citizens are being put on the verge of deprivation, and have to break the laws as a means of survival. Furthermore, other social factors such as discrimination, inequality, and corruption may promote crime through fostering an environment of dissatisfaction and rage. Those people might hold a belief that society is always unequal and hard to struggle with, thereby inclining to turn to illegal behaviors as a form of protest.

In conclusion, aside from personal psychological factors, I contend that social difficulties are key elements contributing to the surge in crime rates.