Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty

, others think that

crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds the idea that social issue and poverty are to blame for criminal while the others believe that it is the outcome of bad individual’s natural instinct. This essay attempts to shed light on the both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the later notion.

On the one hand, it is understandable that why the increasing of criminal rate is the outcome of society’s vice. First and foremost, poverty or lack of resources could compel humans to break the law to survive. This could be explained by the fact that in economically disadvantageous communities, people have to face with the limitation of stable employment or upward mobility. Therefore, the absence of legitimate means to achieve financially stability have given rise to the illegal activities as a mean of survival. Furthermore, people whose environment is widespread with social issues may be adapted to the illegal behaviors. For instance, a child who grow up in a neighborhood with drug problems could turn into a drug dealer himself, since he has witnessed drug abuse and addictive as a norm. Therefore, this could act as an urge for people to engage in criminal activities later on.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reason as to why I am convinced that making crime is steam from bad natural human instinct. Proponents of this belief claim that certain traits, such as impulsivity, aggression and callousness predispose individual to immoral or unethical behaviors. This is because people with these traits become less considerate when they perceive any threat, and leading them to likely ignore the consequences of their actions. Another justification is that carrying undiagnosed psychological disorders, and their condition makes individuals more prone to committing criminal. A large share of prison population, especially repeated offenders, are affected by sociopathy, that is characterized as inhibited compassion towards others. This is not well-understood otherwise, and education only partially help mitigating the sociopathy’s effect. For these reasons, criminal nature is definitely worth looking as the cause of their offenses.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that socioeconomic issues are one of the components of people to break the law, I would contend that criminal instinct is a more indicative factor of whether individuals are likely to commit crime.