Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view.

Even though people have various skills and knowledge, their asessment is necessary in every field to bring them to light. Usually, this is carried out through examinations, but a section of society does not favour this and suggests regular analysis throughout the course. I support the notion and the essay will summarise the contributing factors in the upcoming paragraphs before venturing to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, exams act as a driving force for students such that they do not skip any part of academic syllabus in order to prepare for the semester or annual examinations. However, this leads to a habit of studying just prior to the datesheet as learners find themselves quite free throughout the session as they are not getting marks for anything. This leads to piling up of syllabus for the last moment and creates immense pressure on the mind on youngsters. A survey conducted by Harvard University in United States found out that the knowledge seekers who studied constantly had lesser exam anxiety than the ones who opened the books for examinations.

Moreover, the marks scored in divided evaluations are better than those through one exam because not everyone has good cramming skills. Also, the continuous assessments are done on various basis which enables the students to highlight their strong areas and get marked accordingly. This can be seen in the changed pattern of Central Board of Secondary Education, India which has started a new scheme known as 'Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation' where the marking scheme includes various periodic tests along with grades for extra curricular activities being added together for the final result. Resultingly, the stress levels of students have decreased and they are studying more regularly for the periodicals.

To encapsulate, the continuity while studying throughout the year has proven to be more beneficial and thus gaining more popularity these days globally. The studently who are good at different areas, get the opportunity to enhance their grades with this method.