Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

Many people have said that it is beneficial for students to take a gap between school and university, in contrast, there are others who disagree. I will discuss both sides of the house and give my own opinion.

It is understandable why a gap year would be popular. It is a choice which allows students to seek out and experiment with many different jobs. They could accumulate large amounts of knowledge and work experience over a year. This could aid them in applying for different occupations. For instance, when two people apply for a job, the employer would look for different attributes that they find beneficial for the company. Often the person who has work experience would more likely be hired as it shows that this person knew what kind of job this is and how things operated before applying. This would be an advantage as the chances of employment would increase dramatically for students.

However, there are arguments from the other side against this. They have claimed that a gap year would be a waste of time as students would not focus on their work and frequently take this chance to hangout with their friends. In addition, when they have turned their attention towards obtaining more experience, the timing might be off dramatically as companies would have closed their limited application time, leading to insufficient appliance of jobs as well as frustration. Also, it would be very costly to finance a gap year. For example, a student, when taking a gap year, would still have to rely on their parents’ financial support. This include rent payments, food, electricity and various other fees which are necessary to sustain them. Many families would have been breaking when the gap year is over.

In conclusion, I believe that it depends on their familial backgrounds as some families have the finance to support their children and others do not have such a luxury to do the same.