Some people believe that the good leaders are born, whereas others hold the opinion that the leadership qualities could be obtained during the life. Who represents the good leader qualities indeed?

It is clear that a good leader is prerequisite for the success and effective operation of any team or any organisation. Although there are someone who state that leadership is an inborn talent, others believe an excellent leader can obtain all skills through social interaction. In my point of view, I reckon that the abilities of a great leader are generated partly through innate skills, yet mostly through learning. This essay will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, some people argue that leaders are born with special traits that distinguish them from others. Such characteristics make them easily understand the needs of team and have proper behaviours to obtain the support from partners. Many children actually appear to have the qualities of leadership in very young age, which may be inherited from parents or relatives. For example, nowadays it is not unusual to identify some good leaders in the high schools, who would later play important roles in their companies or even nations. However, inborn skills clearly are not enough to make an excellent leader.

On the other hand, the statement that ‘leaders are made’ is advocated by many debaters who strongly believe that leadership can be acquired through experiences during one’s lifetime. Qualities associated with leadership are said to be the related to personality, social impact, inspiration, and enthusiasm. Moreover, the abilities must be attained through the process of learning, observing, and practising regularly. With such accumulated background coupled with some innate skills, the leaders would handily inspire other members and guide them to achieve the general goals. Take president Ho Chi Minh of Vietnam as an example. After discovering and learning many new conceptions from many countries, he came back and led Vietnamese to fight against the enemies for national independence successfully.

In conclusion, it is obvious that some qualities of leadership can be somewhat acquired as innate talent. However, the majority skills are the results of training and effort. Therefore, people should study, observe, and practise frequently to improve their abilities which would form outstanding leaders.