Some people believe that governments should pay full course fees for students who want to study in universities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there is a contentious controversy regarding whether it is superior for governments to allocate their budgets to paying full course fees for pupils having desire to attend tertiary education. Although a school of thoughts acknowledges that this policy would have numerous merits, I would align myself with the opinion that this practice is riddled with a lot of pitfalls.

On the one hand, a plethora of factors has prevailed some experts on supporting the former notion. Firstly, this policy could be an incentive motivating students to pursue higher education. For example, Vietnamese authorities have abolished full course fees for some groups of pupils like those being disabled or deficient in money. Accordingly, it is observed that the number of attendants in universities and academic institutions throughout Vietnam has undergone an unprecedentedly substantial increase. Furthermore, if free-of-charge college policy is implemented, this can help to mitigate the financial burdens that a great number of Vietnamese families have to experience. This could be exemplified by the fact that but for the help of authorities in terms of education, a vast array of impoverished Vietnamese people would be insufficient in money to make ends meet because they need to pay for tertiary courses of their children. Ultimately, they would have to work very industriously, which renders them more susceptible to some psychological illnesses such as stress or depression.

On the other hand, there are a host of justifications convincing me to concede that this policy might be unfavorable to some extent. The first reason stems from the fact that if governments spare too much money on education, there will be a lack of money used for investing into other fundamental fields. To illustrate, Lao’s authories are inclined to place more emphasis on education rather than healthcare or economy. According, its economy cannot achieve remarkable success and thrive strongly. Moreover, this practice can encourage governments to impose more taxes. This is because they need to accumulate enough money to devote for deploying this policy. It may lead to the fact that many people in society have to experience a huge pressure relating to financial issues.

In conclusion, explicitly, it is indisputable that the exemption of full course fees might bring plenty of benefits which can accelerate the development of education systems ; nevertheless, I want to affirm that this practice could exert a large number of ominous repercussions on society. Therefore, it is much better for governments to have appropriate allocations for education.