Some people believe that governments should pay full course fees for students who want to study in universities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that tuition fees for all students who desire to pursue tertiary education ought to be shouldered by the state. I mostly agree with this notion since it can provide better chances for such education for less well-off individuals and reduce socio-economic inequality, although it can put pressure on the state budget.

The first justification why I agree that the government should bear the tuition fees for university students is that they can be offered equal opportunities for pursuing further education. More specifically, those who live under the poverty line could afford courses at the university without worrying about their financial burden. To illustrate, without being financially supported by the state, most students from remote areas in Vietnam such as Ha Giang Province cannot afford university tuition fees and instead opt to do farming work, losing their chance to acquire a bachelor’s degree which can be beneficial to their future careers.

Another reason for my agreement is that this practice can bridge the gap between different classes in society. This is because people from disadvantaged backgrounds can avoid making sacrifices to save for their children’s education and allocate their budgets to other key matters such as healthcare and entertainment, enabling them to access the same facilities and services as those from better-endowed families. As a result, the socio-economic gap between individuals and families would likely be lessened, paying the way to an equal community.

However, subsidizing tuition fees for all students can trigger monetary burdens on the government. To be more specific, this requires greater spending allocation to education, potentially leading to a budget deficit for other key sectors such as national defence and commerce.

In conclusion, while I admit that fully subsidizing college tuition can pose pressure on the state budget, I am mostly of the opinion that it is beneficial due to the provision of equal chances for education for future generations and the reduced gap between social classes. It is advisable that the government should give priority to those from families with lower incomes to reduce budget pressure.