Some people believe hat unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

High school is the period when teenagers develop and shape their personality the most as individuals, that’s why this time should be spent in a productive way.

In my opinion, unpaid community service is extremely important for young people because it teaches them about giving to others without expecting anything in return.

On the one hand, volunteering in different organizations helps the younger generation to be closer to the community they live in but it also gives them a new perspective to the real world and some of the issues they will face through their lives. For example, some teenagers that live in selective areas have never experienced seeing poverty so by doing charity work they can understand the needs of those less fortunate than them.

On the other hand, teenagers should have the right of choosing whether they want to participate in community services or not. If high schoolers know that something is mandatory and they can’t take the decision on their own they might feel pressured and not reach their maximum potential while they are doing volunteer work. For instance, people’s teen years are the times where they want to show their autonomy so by being obligated to do something there is a big probability that they will find it unappealing. Furthermore when kids are in high school they are already at the age where they should know what’s good for them and their civic spirit should be developed.

In conclusion, community service has a big importance and impact on young people and it should be a part of everyone’s life but only if they are aware that this is the right path to give back to the society they live in.