Some people believe that if students take one year gap away from studies after completing school before starting university it would benefit them. Do you agree or disagree?

Taking a gap year after a high school is a common practice among students. This is for the fact that this is believed to benefit young individuals holistically. In my opinion, there are positive effects in taking a year off from academic education, however, the benefits greatly depend on how a person would use that year for his/her personal development.

Undoubtedly, rest from a school year offers advantages to students in many aspects. Firstly, this time could be an opportunity to travel to different places and explore the world. For instance, many young students like to go backpacking across Europe to discover architectural and historical sites that broaden their understanding of the continent and its history. Secondly, students who take a gap year could explore their interests and gain skills in a particular field before they finally commit to a degree and pursue a long term career. For example, an internship to a health facility as a nursing assistant could help a person decide if he/she would commit to pursuing a four-year degree in nursing and work in the medical field. This is beneficial as it enhances understanding of the field, one would commit to in the long-term.

However, there are times that when a student enters a gap year it leads to negative circumstances. This is due to the fact that the year is spent on other activities that do not benefit the student. As in the case of young individuals who tend to be in every single social event, such as parties in different bar clubs. Another is they could waste their time playing computer games or activities that could lead to addiction. Thus, it is clear that if a person does not spend his/her gap year in a fruitful way, it could have long term repercussions in his/her life.

To conclude, students have the liberty to choose if they could take a gap year or not. If the gap year is well-planned and aims to improve oneself, like exploring places and improving skills, then it could be beneficial for the long term. Meanwhile, if the time is spent only on leisure activities, it is least likely to improve one’s personal growth overall.