Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The high sales of a certain product are claimed to be a result of a good advertisement and not because of the demand of the consumers. In my opinion, even without product advertisement people would still buy based on their immediate needs.

Undoubtedly, there are benefits of advertisement to certain companies and buyers. It makes the product known to the public and allows consumers to have choices. However, advertisement is not a major factor in having high sales. This is for the reason that consumers buy products even without advertisements. For example, the company that produces rice, a staple Filipino food, has no single advertisement, yet they have the highest sales in the food market. Thus, we could say that people buy products based on what they need, and not on what the media or other people tell them.

Moreover, people nowadays are intelligent consumers. They are knowledgeable about how advertisement could be sometimes manipulative and only shows the positive side of the product. For instance, vegetable oils containing omega-3 would only tell about the benefits of omega-3 and exclude the negative effects that other ingredients have on one's health. So despite advertising strategies, products would not have increased sales because buyers are more knowledgeable and base their purchases on what they think is essential.

To conclude, advertising may encourage individuals to buy certain items but it is not the main reason why products are popular in the market. I believe that if an item is essential, consumers would still buy them even without a single advertisement.