Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world.

What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level and at an individual level?

One of the highly discussed problems of modern society is the undisturbed growth of traffic on roads, especially in developed countries and bigger cities. In my opinion, the root of this problem lies in the lack of investments made in the public transport's system that should be modenised and improved.

Every city, either smaller or bigger ones, are equipped with a system of public transport which is often the cause of major traffic issues for a number of different reasons. One of them is that these systems are often outdated in many cities. It means that fundamental resources such as public buses or underground lack of working stability, for example, scheduled times of transit. People, therefore, prefer to drive their personal cars and get stuck into traffic jams and not risking to wait long for a bus. Another reason is that some convoys are very old and do not offer citizens hazard-free rides. One good illustration of this is a large number of buses which caught fire in Rome during the last year. As a result, public transport is the least chosen transport method used by the Romans.

A reform of mass transportation could alleviate many of the problems that countries are facing but would require joint efforts from the government and individuals. If larger funds were invested in both technical and efficiency improvements, the choice to travel using urban transportation methods could be easier for lots of people. Meanwhile, individuals should opt for more sustainable choices, such as riding a bike or walking when possible. The idea of carpooling should be supported more as it reduces significantly traffic on roads.

In conclusion, the solutions to reduce heavy traffic from cities may vary but they necessarily require cooperation from both public administration and individuals. In my opinion, it is a problem that can be improved by boosting public transportation systems and giving public credit when it actively betters the situation.