Some people believe that people have the right to university education and government should make it free no matter what their financial background To what extent do you agree or disagree

Financially disadvantaged students tend to stand a lower chance of pursuing higher education than others. In sympathy with them, some people believe the government should entitle such students to places in universities so that there would be no inequality in education attainment. From a personal perspective, I am strongly against this notion due to several reasons presented below.

On the other hand, it should be noticed that this proposal might seem not to be so realistic. Ensuring a place for every student in a country would undoubtedly be an insurmountable task for governments, especially for those running developing countries. Indeed, the total number of highschool leavers in any given year would always outweighs the number of seats available at all universities nationwide, which means that for this idea to be implemented, an unfeasibly exorbitant amount of governmental funding must be spent on building new schools and other infrastructure such as dormitory to ensure the needs of all students.

Another striking point is that the prospects of a universal higher education system might create a crisis in the labour market. If this idea is put into practice, white-collar jobs would always be targeted by university graduates - which would be virtually everyone - because of much better environment and salary, meanwhile manual jobs would incur a great loss of potential labours. This possible trend is extremely dangerous to the economic development of a country, thus adopting this proposal might seem to be merely absurd and unreasonable of the governments.

In conclusion, the risk of giving every student access to higher education regardless of their background is not worth taking at all due to its potential drawbacks mentioned above. Although the current higher educational system might not be completely fair, it seems to be the best available one and any change could have unintended consequences if not carefully speculated.