Some people believe that professionals such as doctors and engineers should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believed they should be free to work in other countries.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people hold the view that certain professionals such as doctors or engineers must work in their country while opponents argue that people should be entitled to work wherever they want. I personally gravitate toward the latter and some reasons will be explained as follows.

On the one hand, doctors or engineers, these occupations play an indispensable role for the development and stability of their own country. That is to say, if the tendency of these people work abroad after being trained increase, their nation will definitely encounter a brain drain crisis since there are not enough professional workers to fulfill the demand of the whole country. This is the particular case for Vietnam, according to recent surveys, this country is experiencing lots of difficulties including lack of knowledged and skilled labour due to the insufficient mental workers.

On the other hand, some others assume that choosing their own working environment is a right of each people. I firmly concur with this opinion. This is because the working environment, and the income that these occupations vary amongst countríe and people have a claim to choose a right place to devote to their own personal development as well as future orientation irrespective of geographical boundaries as long as they are qualified enough. Otherwise, it would be a substantial financial disadvantage for the individual. Moreover, engineers, especially who are talented, should have opportunities to work in a developed nation, where they are appreciated, where there are adequate conditions like modern equipment and infrastructures, thereby fully revealing their potential. For instance, a study conducted by Stanford university showed that in the UK, there are thousands of impressive architectures designed by people from different origins, who were trained in different nations but chose the UK as a place to fulfill their ambitions and reach their maximum potential.

In conclusion, although there could be the imbalance of labour in some nations, I agree that it is individual’s right to work wherever that please trumps any nationalistics considerations.