Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology has become more prevalent, most children have considered television and video games to be their main sources of entertainment. While some people argue that this phenomenon is detrimental and that children should rather read books, I personally disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, proponents of reading books emphasize the benefits it can bring to juveniles. Through academic books, they can broaden their knowledge. For instance, if a child searches for a History book and reads it, she is likely to acquire a deeper understanding of her country’s past lives, and how they bravely protected her nation from such invaders. She will become more appreciative of their efforts to fight against the invaders and have a better awareness of taking action to mitigate the current issues facing her country, such as pollution and territorial disputes. Another point worth considering is that children can become more mature. Through several novels, they are able to experience the characters’ lives, acknowledge the author’s perspective and afterward, enhance their point of view toward life.

On the other hand, there are a number of positive effects on children related to digital entertainment that justify its superiority over books. Initially, as children get exposed to digital devices at an early age, they are able to become familiar with advanced technology faster than those who are not allowed to use mobile phones frequently. Because technology has become integrated into the way people work, this may serve as a prerequisite for them when applying for jobs. Additionally, technology can be regarded as a stimulus for children to develop a preference for it. This can be seen in the case of the son of my mother’s friend. She allowed him to use a mobile phone when he was just a 3-year-old child, ignoring the disagreement from her parents. Contrary to their assumption that he would be addicted, an interest in coding developed inside him, and as a result, he became a professional programmer, who earned over $100,000 a year.

In conclusion, while books can be beneficial to a certain extent, they cannot outweigh the benefits of television and video games. It is recommended that children be allowed to use the Internet for about 2 hours to avoid the potential drawbacks of excessive exposure to the screen.