Some people believe that school children should be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Homework is a regular part of education. Some individuals think that educators should not give school children homework. However, I do believe that doing homework plays a crucial role in educating children.

On the one hand, homework should be excluded from the school curriculum. First of all, it has a negative impact on the relationship of between children and their parents. Family evening activities including watching a couple of episodes and gathering are taken away. Instead, after dinner time, children are responsible for a large quantity of daily homework and some of their parents could become their tutors. As a result, this could cause a gap generation and misunderstandings between family members. Second, school children hardly have time for entertainment. Even on the weekends and holidays, they do not have time to take a rest and join social activities such as sports and arts to follow the natural development, which could put them under pressure.

On the other hand, I believe that homework is necessary for the education. Firstly, it makes a profound contribution to academic achievement. By doing daily homework, young students can definitely practice frequently; therefore, they are well-prepared for assessments at school and obtain higher study results. Secondly, school children could develop their independence in learning. If they do not understand about something at class, doing homework forces them to research again. These researches make them well aware of how to study by themselves.

In conclusion, there are some obvious reasons why some people disagree with assigning homework; however, in my opinion, completing homework brings significant benefits to school children but it also depends on how much homework is given.