Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Assigning homework to children is often believed to be useful. However, some believe that homework is a complete waste of time and should not be given whereas others argue it plays an essential role in improving the education of children. In my opinion, students should be assigned study work because it makes them productive.

On the one hand, it is thought by people that homework is of no benefit and should be discarded. One reason why this view is held because students tend to spend a lot of time studying at school and upon reaching their home, they feel exhausted to complete their assignments. As a result, they fail to finish their assignments as well as not able to engage in extra curriculum activities. For instance, in Tokyo University of Japan, a survey revealed that students tend to spend most of their time in homework which made them less socialised and inactive.

On the contrary, other people say that homework plays a vital role in the development of a student's education. One reason for this is that home study helps children to learn more about their course contents and achieve better grades. For example, pupils who were assigned homework showed better performance in mathematics than those students who were not given any assignments. Furthermore, these students stand a higher chance to enter tertiary education and eventually obtain a well-paying job in the future.

In conclusion, it is evident from all discussions that both the arguments carry equal strength and significance and neither can be refuted outright. However, I personally subscribe to the proposition that homework is necessary for students as it allows them to score higher grades and improve their careers.