Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.”

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that students should revise their curriculum by doing homework. However, this notion has come under attack by others who emphasise the unimportance of the setting of homework. This essay will elaborate on both points of view and provide personal perspective

On the one hand, some individuals hold the view that homework has an essential role to play in schooling. Not only does it assist pupils in gaining an insight into studied subjects, but also encourage an independent study habit. In other words, challenged to work through the problem without any assistance from teachers, they have precious opportunities to become more self-reliant step by step. Another striking reason is the young possessing a large amount of leisure time gravitate towards devoting their time to keep their eyes glued to screens. To cite an example, an extensive study in 2019 into the behaviour of teenagers has demonstrated that most students have a tendency to squander their spare time on the Internet, comics,... in place of to consolidate the knowledge.

On the other hand, others hold the notion that time after school should be taken advantage of to do the more beneficial activities. Pupils, for instance, are able to ameliorate their communication skills and broaden their social knowledge by participating in volunteer activities. Moreover, having a great deal of homework, students are prone to suffer from boredom and stress. There is the dramatical increase in teenage suicide rate which is reliable evidence to indicates serious repercussions of putting the young under pressure.

In conclusion, despite the fact that homework is certainly associated with some drawbacks, I believe that its benefits outweigh them in the long term.