Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It would be argued by some that the setting of homework is unnecessary. In my opinion, however, it is essential for children to do extra work at home.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some people believe that homework is a negative aspect of education. Firstly, there is evidence to support the idea that homework has little educational worth. It is proved that there is no positive relationship between the amount of homework set and average test scores. Countries such as Finland, where young learners do not bother with homework, regularly top international educational league tables and outperform nations where setting homework is the norm. Secondly, homework is time-consuming. The time spent doing given tasks at home could be used to do other outdoor activities. As play time is as beneficial as study time, doing homework might do more harm than good when it comes to brain development.

On the other hand, it seems to me that homework is a vital part of the schooling of children. The main benefit of homework is that it helps students strengthen their understanding and become more proficient in applying new knowledge and skills. For instance, by doing mathematics exercises at home, children consolidate the concepts taught by their teacher at school. Also, homework allows parents or guardians to get involved in their children’s learning. In doing so, they could grasp what their children are dealing with and give them a helping hand when needed.

In conclusion, although homework certainly has its drawbacks, I personally believe that it has an important role to play in the education of young learners.