In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

It is often argued that shopping is now a hobby for everyone whereas, in the past, it was only a routine task. I partially agree with this statement and think that shopping frequently has brought positive change as well as resulted loss of excessive money in a family.

On the first hand, family relationship is now improving and thanks to shopping for this positive change. Since many youngsters like to shop for new clothes and buy their favourite toys or gadgets, parents nowadays often fulfill their desires through shopping. This eventually results happiness in both sides and thus helps to grow the relationship between parents and their children. For example, my best friend always appreciates and respects his guardians because they often buy him new gadgets when asked. Hence, shopping more often has bought positive change in a family.

However, shopping as a passion has caused people to waste a great amount of money. In other words, children nowadays are too much addicted to buying unnecessary products even though they own all the required things. This reflects that their desire to shop for unnecessary products is unavoidable and consequently people end up spending money on the things which are needless. A teenager who already owns a smartphone, for example, buys another one when a new mobile phone emerges in the market. This is simply a waste of money. Situations like this are growing because of taking shopping as a hobby.

In conclusion, although I believe shopping has brought improvements and positive impacts, I would also like to suggest that this behaviour leads to lose a vast amount of money for the things that we do don’t usually require.