Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that teachers should not give homework to pupils. In my opinion, however, homework is a vital tool to educate children.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why individuals believe that homework is not necessary for children. The first reason is that too much homework may put considerable pressure on pupils. That is because they may focus on complete the assignments so that they forget to eat or sleep, which leads to unproductive academic performance. Another negative effect is that this case may develop a sense of cheating in school kids. When they can not finish the homework before the due date, they may copy the results of their friends because being afraid of punishments. My cousin is an example, she asked her friends to help her to solve the math questions, which is due in the following day.

On the other hand, I would argue that homework plays an important role in the education of young people because of several reasons. Firstly, children may have more opportunities to review the lessons. In fact, the time of a class is short but the amount of required knowledge is massive. Therefore, doing much homework may help school learners to review and recall knowledge. For example, as I was in high school, there were too many kinds of math questions to learn before the university entrance exam, doing homework, however, helped me to practice the quick response to each kind. Secondly, school kids may arrange their personal schedules independently as too much homework is handed to reduce stress. That may lead to a sense of independence which is helpful for their further lives.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the advantages of homework to school children outweighed the drawbacks. However, teachers also should not give to much homework to them because that may cause some negative effects on childhood development.