Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that teachers should not give homework to school children. While there might be some reasons to support this idea, I am of the opinion that homework is essential in educating students.

On the one hand, the argument that students should be free of homework is reasonable to some extent. The first reason is that when children are not given homework to do at home, they will have more free time to help their families with household chores. This not only enhances children’s willingness to join hands to share burdens with their families but also strengthens children’s connection with family members. Another reason is that without homework, children will be free to develop practical skills which are rarely taught at school. Students, for example, can learn computing skills which play an important role in later careers.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that homework is essential to education. Initially, homework provides children with chances to revise knowledge again after class; therefore, they can have a better understanding of what has been taught. In addition, by doing homework carefully, students could have confidence and then do well on tests.

In conclusion, although being free of homework can somewhat contribute to the freedom to use the time for other activities of students, I contend that homework should be given to school chores due to the theoretical benefits to them. It is advisable that homework should be given at enough amount that is fit to students’ time.