In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Teaching new languages for primary school pupils has become increasingly popular in some nations. This movement should be motivated since its merits definately overshadow its drawbacks.

language provide a wide range of benefits for the children themselves. First, there is a close correlation between the ability to speak another language and the mental development of children. Children are billingual tend to be excel at certain subjects compared to their counterparts who can only use their mother tounge. This stems from the fact that each language have its unique features that stimulate the growth of certain parts of the brain of children. To illustrate, Vietnamese language tend to encourage the ability to feel melodies since the language tends to express more within sentences. Likewise, good command of a second language allows children to look at things with wider perspectives, which makes them become more well-rounded individuals. This is because when learning new languages, pupils absorb the native culture, norm and tradition of foreign countries simultaneously, which provides these children with broader view of a wide range of subjects. Finally, if young children attain good language skills, they can enhance their employment in their motherland as well as abroad thus receive decent income and live better off.

In addition to the merits to young students, society is also beneficial from teaching other languages for kids. The first point in support of this view is that given new generations are equipped with foreign languages, trades between countries are likely to be improved and facilitated. As a result, national economy can grow thanks to increase in goods exchanged to other nations. An additional point is that wars and conflicts will tend to be mitigated internationally. As language barriers are eliminated, people can comprehend each other, the risk of argument is thus limited. Another advantage of educating foreign language for young people is that it creates more business opportunities. People can go to other nations to set up their representative office to sell products or service which are the specialities of their countries. This is especially the case for French people, who normally move to a foreign nation to sell their delicious red wines. Thus, not only the students but also the regions and countries, the young minds reside are benefited from their language education.

In sum, teaching foreign linguistic skills for kids have many positive impacts on children and the place they live in. In my opinion, this trend should be encouraged.