Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology has changed the way people communicate, for better or worse. While I agree that advancements in technology have made it easier to communicate with one another and made man more social, there are also negative aspects of new technological developments that we need to consider.

Man created social media with the help of technology, and it has changed the way people socialize due to its worldwide accessibility. Nowadays you can easily connect, make friends, and communicate through online platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. In 2018, an estimated 2.65 billion people were using social media worldwide and the numbers are increasing rapidly. With social media, you can easily keep in touch with your friends, your family, and make new contact with other people from all around the world. There are varieties of ways to communicate as well, from text messages to audio calls and even live video calls. Surprisingly enough, the prices of these communications are also much cheaper than the traditional methods we are used to. There is no longer a border, physical distances have become just a number, and people have been more social than ever before.

Moreover, technology helps you keep up with knowledge from all over the world in an instant, which is a good thing because it has raised people’s awareness of global problems. The more people know about these issues the higher chance that they would join hands to do something about it and the bonds between fellow humans would become much more solid.

By contrast, technology has decreased the real-life interaction of humans because of its convenience and has effectively made people lazier. Nowadays, people do everything online, they communicate, shop, and even date through their phone or computer. People don’t really want to hang out with others like before. Picture the common scene of modern-day cafes where everyone sits with each other, but they are not together. They continue to use technology to communicate with the outside world even though they are sitting next to their friends and colleagues. This lack of human interaction is merely the beginning, the stronger technology gets, the more convenient it will become. The fact that people are having a preference for indoor activities rather than outdoor activities will develop to a point where no one wants to go out anymore. More importantly, even though we can do a lot of things online, we still need actual interaction with society such as in-person conversations and meaningful relationships. In a recent study, Health insurer Cigna - a famous insurance company in the U.S found that among 20.000 Americans, 46 percent of Americans report feeling lonely sometimes or always, and the younger generation like GenZ and millennials felt more lonely than others. This has been one of the most critical social problems that we are trying to fix and from this point of view, technology has been making man less social in terms of real-life interaction.

While technology has provided a massive information transportation network, it has also made people lazier and lonelier. These are the problems that we are not likely to fix any time soon. The extent to which technology has made man more social is mixed, but in the end, technology has made man more social.