Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when declining on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Through all these years, having strict and fixed punishments for each type of crime, has been a debating issue between individuals. While some people have wanted to exert certain ones for every criminal, others have desired to consider the stimulation for committing it in order to reduce on the punishment. I myself have concurred with humans whom have believed the offenders’ conditions have to be taken into account.

First of all, many countries have regarded several fixed retributions. During these years, some people have believed applying these punishments should be equal for every criminal no matter how and why they have committed a crime. In their opinion, existence of fixed punishments not only has been like a deterrent for people to commit a crime because they have known of its consequences, but also have helped governments to decide immediately. Furthermore, it may have propelled to decline crime rate. Moreover, they have thought of all criminals same as each other because they have judged them based on their horrible acts. As a result, there would be few possibilities for criminals to alter judge’s opinion in order to decline their punishment.

On the other hand, although other people have been fond of fixed punishments, they have also wanted to discuss how criminals have led to commit a crime. Indeed, thinking about individual crime and the criminals whom have been affected by other’s motivation to do an illegal task, has been a significant diversity which should be considered. In addition, comparing one serial killer who have committed a crime without any encouragement and a murderer who has killed someone in self-defense has been totally unjustified. So because of that reason, in their opinion, based on how offenders have committed a crime, the intensity of their retribution could either be heighten or declined. Therefore, if a criminal committed a crime under horrible situations, it would be extremely unfair to punish them in the same way of other ones.

In conclusion, albeit having these fixed punishments have had several benefits for not only society but also the governments, there are some human-beings who are against it. This group of individuals, which I have agreed with, has always been aware of how horrible situations would lead people to do an illegal thing. Because of that reason, difference between them should not be overlooked.