Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime is not favourable for the development of any society as well as acts as an impediment in the way of prosperity of any country. However, some concede that punishment for each crime should be fixed, while others point out that other factors should also be taken into account in deciding punishment. Now, I will put forth my views over this statement.

To begin with, predefined punishment for each crime is necessary in order to instill fear in criminals on account of plethora reasons. Firstly, it results in considerable saving of time and money, and thereby ensures smooth functioning of the judiciary. Furthermore, it brings a semblance of hope for the victims, as they get quick justice. On the top of that, enforcement of strict laws and punishments can help people to change their mindset, who do not take any law in a serious way and sometimes remain oblivious of the dire aftermath of crime. In addition, there are certain heinous crimes, which cross all the limitations of humanity such as anti-national activities, terrorism, assassination and so on, and here punishment must be as harsh as death, which can be plausible only with the fixed punishment.

However, it is also true that nowadays crime is quite prevalent among youngsters, which is partly an outcome of the lack of opportunities, frustration, improper milieu and many more, which allow the judiciary to cogitate and take all situations into consideration before deciding any punishment owing to some possible reasons. Firstly, many people have come under the influence of myriad negative things as a result their thinking ability has been choked and aptitude to differentiate between situations has been narrowed, which later make people to commit crime for their lofty goals, and hence in such situations, these factors should be scrutinized, because so many lives are associated with that person who is persecuted by punishment, thus there is an indirect impact on whole family. Notwithstanding, fixed punishment can utterly obliterate life of an individual because wealthy people can easily tamper facts and evidences, consequently an innocent person may suffer through the agony. For instance, it has been found that it is easier to tweak evidences, which form bedrock for any decision in judiciary.

In conclusion, I opine that main objective of the law and order is to protect the innocents and punish the wrong doers.