Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The public opinion is gaining popularity worldwide with the rise of social media and democracy around. According to some people there must be fixed punishments for every crime, whereas others believe that crime scene and the contributing factors must determine the intensity of punishment for any given crime.

Some people strongly believe in the idea of fixed punishments, for each type of crime despite the consequences for any crime. Since every act with hazardous impact or potential hazard is labelled as a crime, the guilty must be punished in a fixed way. For example, if a person rushing to hospital, to meet a dear one in very critical state, breaks a traffic signal which results in a major accident on the other hand does not warrant a less intensity punishment. The idea is to minimize the crime rate, as public fears the intensity of punishment in return.

Whereas some people believe that punishment must be altered after evaluating the leading factors for any crime. The guilty must benefit the contributing factors that compelled him, for the act. For example, if a man who's deeply under burden of the bank loans, robs a bank or does any other robbery, so he could buy medicines for his terminally sick parent or child must be dealt with sympathy. The reason behind this school of thought remains superiority of individual, his debts, his personal financial condition, which was so poor that he was compelled to commit a crime, in order to meet basic needs for his family.

This essay gives the opinion of regarding fixed punishments and leverages to be considered, after evaluation of all factors that led to any crime. In my opinion, punishments must be customized depending upon the act, consequences of the act and will of the victim. Considering a man who's found guilty of sexually abusing children, must be punished to such great intensity, that everyone else feels discouraged to commit the same crime in ages to come. The customized punishments hold some grey area which people can manipulate for their own ease, but on the contrary public would be able to intensify the punishments through jury for any social crimes.