Some people believe that unpaid community service be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many experts claim that, now a days school and college are focusing more on theoretical knowledge rather than practical, so they suggest to improve high school curriculum by adding social service. However, others argue that, practical knowledge decrease their children academic percentage. This essay will examine the arguments on the favor of the topic.

First and foremost, in today’s world people are more engage in virtual world to communicate also, rather than meeting each others, due to this we can clearly see the relation gap between people in our society. Similarly, another fact of our society is, our education system are giving more emphasis on future earning only rather than volunteering. People are enjoying in electronic device in their free time rather than coming out of room and getting engaged in community. So, the government should impose the law of compulsory social service to nearby community, this can help to build the feeling of responsibilities to students. For example, if they practically involve in such activities, they can understand the problem of their society and try to solve it. Moreover, they can see the real face of society as they are only listening in news.

Secondly, such types of social activities help to build leadership quality in them and they can get changes to explore themselves. Such as, teaching sports to younger, improving the neighborhood, visiting old age home to help them, can be the first step of involving in social work to them, hence it can help to develop more confident on them to raise voice against violence or for their rights or talking stand for anyone rights in society. On the other hand, it can be biggest platform to those, who are interested in such type of unpaid work, they can get chances to meet big organization to serve the country and society. Whereas, it is also said that, such types of work can ruin student’s academic result, but, in my view, only certificate cannot deal for the betterment of students.

In conclusion, only theoretical knowledge is not sufficient for students to explore, learning means they must know about the ethics, manner and responsibilities towards their society, community and country. Hence, the government should improvise the course of high school and give some importance on social services as well.