Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When visiting other countries, some people believe that the host country should welcome cultural differences, while I shall emphasize the importance of following local customs and behavior.

First, liberating Muslim female from the veil remains a considerably complex affair. Yet until now, it’s dangerous for women, even foreign women, to hang out without the veil in Iran. Thus in extreme cases, compliance with local behavior is for security considerations.

Secondly, following local customs shows the most basic respect to people who call the territory you visit home. For instance, we all know that it’s rude to enter one’s home in Japan with shoes on without permission. And if you’d like to learn more about it, you will possibly find out that Japanese used to adopt wooden structure to prevent houses from frequent earthquakes. At the same time, it rains a lot in Japan. Preventing the mud from being brought into rooms, in case they could better protect wooden floors, they took off shoes before entering. So while appreciating wonderful sceneries and nice foods, one can gain a better understanding of customs and culture from locals’ habits, isn’t that one of the purposes of tourism?

Of course the inconvenience of adapting oneself to others’ behavior cannot be denied. And it’s considered limiting cultural interaction by a great deal of people, to some extent. From my perspective, however, cultural exchanges must be based on respecting cultural differences all the time, not to mention when paying a visit. Just as there are similar old sayings in many areas-when in Rome, do as the Romans do, for it is exact the tiny, nonnegligible differences that have added up to a colorful world.