Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Over the past half century, the rate at which tourism industry has developed continues to accelerate, which has given rise to a heated discussion. While many people believe that the host countries should embrace diverse cultures and values, I opine that visitors should obey local customs and behavior when paying a visit.

The reasons may involve the recognition that in some extreme cases, compliance with locals’ behavior is out of safety considerations. For instance, liberating women from the veil in Muslim countries remains a considerably complex affair, and till now, it is dangerous for women, even foreign women, to hang out without the veil in Iran. Apart from security concerns, following local customs not only shows basic respect to inhabitants, but also enable you to gain a better understanding of local customs and culture by discussing their customs with locals or referring to the Internet, which is also one of the purposes of travelling.

On the other hand, as tourism has become one of the most important industries in many countries, it has offered numerous employments and financial income for the local people. Some people hold the idea, thus, that they are responsible for making guests feel at home. Besides, the past few decades have witnessed the acceleration of globalization, it is reasonable for host countries to welcome cultural differences, or it may limit cultural interaction worldwide.

However, my strong conviction is that cultural exchanges must be based on respecting cultural differences all the time, especially during one’s stay in another country. As there are similar old sayings in many areas-when in Rome, do as the Romans do. It is exactly the tiny, while non-negligible differences that have added up to a colorful world.