Some people believe that watching television is bad for children in every way. Others, however, say that television is good for children to develop as they grow up. Discuss both views and give opinion.

It is true that while some people argue that it is completely harmful for small children to watch television, others believe that watching television might benefit the development of a child. This essay will shed light on both view before concluding that television might have adverse bearings on children and their development.

On one hand, watching television could be advantageous to the development of young children. Firstly, it could provide a wide range of information about numerous educational topics such as wild life, environmental problems, and positive social activities. Those pieces of interesting information might reinforce the knowledge that children learn from the textbooks at schools, which then give them incentives to study and develop themselves. Secondly, watching TV could encourage the young age group to be creative. TV shows that teach DIY, for instance, provide incentives for children to create hand-made crafts by themselves, which then boost their creativity.

On the other hand, television could bring back detrimental effects on a child’s mind and physic. Watching TV intensively could prevent children from reading books, or learning and doing their homework. As a result, their mind would be unable to fully develop and their knowledge would be limited, which is disadvantageous to their future as they would be unqualified in terms of specialized knowledge. Furthermore, young people could have a sedentary lifestyle as they spend most of their time to watch television. Consequently, a higher rate of obesity resulting from a lack of activities can cause health problems, especially heart diseases.

In conclusion, watching television could be beneficial for a child’s development and creativity, however, it also have negative repercussions on the children’ mind and physical statement. Personally, I believe that watching television could be harmful to the young generations, there for parents should limit the time their offspring are allowed to use the TV.