Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some critics argue that spending money on discovering the space is not justified and this money should be spent for more sufficient purposes. Personally, I totally agree with this argument since there are more severe problems on the earth that governments and society should tackle than in the space.

To begin with, spending money on exploring the space could not only waste money but also harm the environment. Those exploration journeys usually cost government bodies billion of dollars, which could be utilized to support the underprivileged for years. Furthermore, each launch of spaceships could devastate the surrounding areas, destroying green forests and contaminating rivers, which kills the animals that live in those areas.

Those money should be spent on developing public amenities and education. In terms of public services, local and national authorities could provide more public transport, construct more open areas, and offer cost-free health services. Free health services, for instance, would save many underprivileged people from illnesses, which then create a healthier society. If more public transportation is offered to the citizens, they would have motivation to use fewer private vehicles. This would then reduce the amount of released carbon emissions, which mitigate global warming. Additionally, money should be spent on upgrading facilities at public schools. This would provide incentives for children to attend classes and absorb knowledge. A more qualified generation as a result would create a good-quality workforce, which then foster the economic growth.

In conclusion, I believe that government bodies should spend money on public services and education rather than space exploration.