Many people say that universities should only offer to young students with the highest marks, others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In today’s society, the top priority has been given to higher education due to its significance in individual growth and social progress. Under this circumstance, there is a major debate in the field of taking parts in universities that revolves around the issue of whether only students with high marks are qualified for the entrance or all students, regardless of ages and academic performances should be offered places. This essay will delve into both viewpoints and voice my personal opinions.

On the one hand, it is admitted that top students deserve to be trained by reputed universities as they have already made much more effort than other peers in schooling. Hence, those students can easily adapt to the curriculums of the universities which require a certain level of background knowledge to excel in specific courses or complete numerous assignments. Moreover, candidates with ill scores are not reliable for further performance in study, it may be a loss of resources and time working with such pupils. To enumerate, the biggest reason for the low score of such students is distracted mind and can be predicted to keep distracting further and be the loss to the educational institute and society, so a more focused and better performer is well suited to this case.

On the other hand, I personally maintain that students who do not achieve better scores but have wonderful performance in overall development despite their ages, genders, religions can get the opportunities to broaden their horizons in higher education. For example, over-age students who can not gain decent marks but have a lot of life experience can absorb knowledge at the University in a comprehensive and practical way. Meanwhile, some top students graduating from high school are not yet aware of their abilities and dreams can enroll in fields that are not suitable for them in college.

In conclusion, I believe that superior performance in the academic study must be a crucial factor to evaluate the qualification of a student who can enter the university, but more all-round standards should be adopted. Apart from high scores, other qualities such as teamwork spirit, interpersonal skills, organizing ability, and specialty in one field are of equal importance in enrollment standards.