Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some people claim that women are more ill-suited than their male counterparts to the line of work in armed forces; however, the others and I opine that they should be treated as equals for some reasons. This essay will discuss both sides of the arguments and elaborate my personal standpoint.

On the one hand, advocates of gender discrimination in police and military forces may state the following rationales. To begin with, biological limitations in terms of physical strength and mental capacity are often mentioned as great discouragements to women. According to this justification, it is thought that they ought to be relegated to medical or clerical assignments rather than allowing them to hold positions in combat domains. Additionally, the act of further integrating women is believed to disrupt cohesion in the armed forces which are normally operated under masculine norms. As a consequence, cooperation or bonding might be strained since feminine needs and inputs have to be taken into account.

On the other hand, I contend that service women deserve equal treatments as men for a handful of reasons. For one thing, by incorporating women into every department, including management, they would have more authority to support fellow female members. It is often reported that women suffer from sexual assaults and other forms of harassment at the workplace with high frequency. Thus, if women are in positions of power in the field, they would be able to penalize evil acts as well as fighting and campaigning for their rights. The second reason is that they would serve as a paradigm for other enlisted women who would in turn be motivated to strive hard for job advancement and more superior delegation.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that females should be treated equally as counterparts in the opposite gender within police and military areas despite the contrary argument.