Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste recycling and household participation in it is a big issue and there many people who believe that the availability of only adequate facilities for recycling is more important than enacting laws. I believe the government should make taking part in the recycling process a legal obligation for the general public.

First, citizens should finely divide the recyclable and non-recyclable wastes and dump them in their respective bins. However, many people do not even participate because either they do not have time, or they do not even care about it. Public co-operation can greatly help in waste recycling. Studies show that many people know the benefits of recycling waste, but they still dump their domestic waste on roadsides or landfills. This pilling up of garbage soon transforms into the breeding ground for fleas and mosquitoes, just because of public negligence towards proper recycling.

If recycling is made a legal requirement, more and more people will spontaneously take part in waste treatment because human psychology reveals a harsh truth that people abide by law only with the concern of being punished or fines and not by their conscience. If laws are framed and people start getting punished or fined, then only more people will start contributing to waste collection. This will not only clear the street from garbage piles but will also contribute to decreasing environmental pollution and diseases caused by non-rectified garbage.

In conclusion, most people are aware of the damages caused by untreated waste, and their non-compliance in the collection and recycling of garbage forces the government to impose laws with punishments and fines.