Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Pollution has become a global burning issue, and domestic waste is one of the contributing sources. Regarding such a problem, some believe that there is not sufficient household waste to be recycled, and they propose that a legal enforcement from the government should be required.

Firstly, it is important to realize that enforce a particular statute to solve the environmental issues is the best method up to present. If the legislation and punishment frameworks were applied, people would have to think attentively before trashing. For example, Singapore is famous for its hygienic rules. At there, civilians are asked to recycle the domestic waste by a decree with heavy fines. Unpredictable result comes out. More than 50% trash has been lessened each year. Clearly, the legislation has brought the positive outcome to a certain degree, which stimulate the process of recycle.

Secondly, education is a long-term solution for the problems. Increasing recycling should be brought into classes at the early age, so as to young generation can acquire necessary knowledge about the concerns. Also, TV reality show or campaigns can be broadcast through social media or traditional ones to enhance people awareness. Turning back to the case of Singapore, apparently, the government has done well their roles. Recycling has become a daily activity of the citizens and many tourists by voluntarily.

In contrast, the idea of implement regulations causing a controversy as this may create the averse effect. Some may feel resent and remain their ways of recycle. However, it is necessary to be realize that most individuals will take no actions unless they are forced to. Therefore, imposing a statute is mandate.

To sum up, for all the reasons listed above, I firmly believe that both education and law enforcement is require to advance households reduce garbage and reuse more.